The Incomparable S.J. Bolton

images crime scene German shadow on cobble stonesDear Readers,
It is not often that I read a series backwards! In this case I merely transposed the S.J.Bolton

    Dead Scared

for

    Now You See Me

. The fascinating experience of tucking into a partnership, in this case DC Lacey Flint and DI Mark Joesbury, after the initial meeting in

    Dead Scared

. Realizing I had sacrificed backstory for a fresh plot I found myself actually enjoying that. Therein lies yet another talent of the amazing Ms Bolton: the ability to nearly shape-shift her main characters through grisly, gothic and rather graphic crime story. Both of these are multiple award-winners; I found myself looking back at the character development with a practiced eye of a crime/mystery writer myself. There is tension between the two, of course, rather a necessity – but there is almost a tentative development. Nowhere in either novel is plot sacrificed for character – they seem to develop each other.

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

