Scallops & Purple Potatoes

Land and Sea, instead of Surf and Turf – much more exotic and may I say an entree (pun intended) to the next murder adventure?

A Dash of Cinema

e

I love the look of scallops on purple potatoes simply because of the contrasting colors. I normally wouldn’t pair potatoes with scallops, but the combination of ingredients from the land and sea was appealing and I wanted to see what that would taste like. Not only is this a visually pleasing dish, but it’s very simple (so simple that I didn’t use a standard recipe).

I seasoned the scallops with pepper and sea salt, and then pan-seared them in olive oil on high heat for 1 to 2 minutes, or until golden brown. You don’t want to overcook scallops. For the purple potatoes, I bought a bag of yes, purple potatoes, and boiled them until they were soft (15-20 minutes in boiling water). I chose to leave the skin on, but you can always peel them. Stick a fork in one of the potatoes to make sure they’re soft, and then drain the water. Put the soft potatoes in a bowl, add 5…

View original post 46 more words

Leave a comment

Filed under Mystery!

Leave a Reply

